Guide to securing your Generative AI account
If technology is being used against you, use this website to secure your tech. Learn about technology-facilitated abuse
Note that depending on your chosen platform, the steps below may vary.
Securing your Generative AI account
Generative AI can be a useful learning tool, however it does not replace the need for tailored, specialist support.
If you’re worried someone is monitoring your account, use a safe device to contact Refuge’s 24hr National Domestic Abuse Helpline (Freephone) on 0808 2000 247.
A safer device might be another phone from a trusted friend, family, or a neighbour, or a computer in a library, school, or workplace.
Steps to secure your account
- Ensure you are accessing the platform on a secure device which is connected to an un-compromised Wi-Fi connection.
- Change the password for your online account.
- Set up Multi-Factor-Authentication (MFA). This is sometimes referred to as Two-Factor-Authentication (TFA).
- Turn off push notifications. Push notifications are short messages sent directly from an app or website to a user’s smartphone. They can appear on your screen even when the app is closed and your phone is locked.
- Consider the security of chat storage options and whether you would be comfortable having the conversations recorded or seen by anyone other than yourself.
- Alter conversational tone and exposure to sensitive content. Regularly review whether the tone or responses have been edited by someone else.
- Check your ‘active sessions’ and log out of any you don’t recognise or that you no longer have access to..
- Check parental controls for any added family members and remove as appropriate.
- Review and update your designated ‘trusted contact’.
- Avoid connecting with social media platforms, cloud accounts, and bank accounts.
- Avoid uploading any identifying, confidential, or personal documents directly to the platform.
- Ensure account is logged out of and closed down after each use. If using on the platform’s app, disable automatic login or auto-starting in settings.